Structured Authoring with DITA

I recently mentioned that I’ve been doing some personal growth.

As part of that, something I’ve been wanting to learn more about for a long time is DITA (Darwin Information Typing Architecture). I guess you could say it’s been on my “learning bucket list.” (Do people have such things…? Apparently, I do.)

For those of you who aren’t technical writers/communicators or information architects and have never encountered DITA, it’s essentially an XML-based standard used for documentation.

You know when you have one of those “aha” moments…?  …Those moments when things that were previously beyond your understanding start to come into focus…?

Last week, I wrote my first few DITA topics: 1 task-based topic and 2 reference-based topics. Tonight, I was able to transform those topics into PDF and HTML-based content. 

Those first 3 topics look pretty good (though I’m still tweaking them a little). I’m also going to work on creating more sample content.

What was your last “aha” moment…?

Icon pack by Icons8

Leave a Reply

