Task-Based DITA Topic

A few days ago, I wrote about how learning DITA has been on my “learning bucket list” and how I wrote my first few DITA topics.

When I was in college getting my B.A. degree in Professional Writing, for 1 of the assignments, the professor asked us to write instructions for how to make a peanut butter sandwich.

Following that strategy, the DITA topics I’ve written so far are also focused on food…more specifically, a breakfast staple…eggs!

 “Why eggs…?” you might ask.  

I chose eggs because I could easily think of several egg varieties that would result in different task-based DITA topics and because it would also involve a couple of reference topics describing ingredients and equipment needed. And by writing about eggs, it keeps me focused on the task at hand (learning DITA) while steering clear of unnecessary technical concepts.

For those who don’t know, DITA relies upon tagging the text (what we technical communicators call “content”). In this particular topic, I’ve introduced the task with a brief description, included 7 required steps and 2 optional steps, and marked some info as important.

As I mentioned before, I’m still tweaking the topics a little bit. But I thought it might be fun to share 1 of the work-in-progress topics.

A few caveats before I share the topic…

  • It’s focused solely on the subject of preparing a fried egg (or multiple fried eggs).
  • It doesn’t yet include any information on the related reference-based topics of necessary ingredients and equipment (that info will be added or linked to later).

Without further delay, here is the task-based DITA topic: Cooking a fried egg

Have you tried DITA and, if so, what was the subject of your first DITA topic…?

Icon pack by Icons8

Leave a Reply

